Supervision and advice

Want to know more about the details of an administrative body or advisory board? Choose the appropriate section below.

Diagram of supervisors and advisory committees
Diagram of supervisors and advisory committees

The Supervisory Board ensures that the Chief Executive / Executive Board of the RvA achieves the aims of the RvA. Members are selected on the basis of expertise and competencies. The following areas of competency are preferably represented within the Supervisory Board: business, government, research/technology, healthcare/ medical, food and goods, quality.

It is important that the members of the Supervisory Board:

  • have broad knowledge of and experience with professional organisations;
  • are able to properly advice and stimulate;
  • maintain an objective, hands-off approach;
  • are ethical and have a sense of responsibility;
  • have an independent and critical approach;
  • are able to formulate a balanced opinion.

The members of the Supervisory Board are appointed for a term of three years. They can be reappointed twice for the same term.

The Supervisory Board consists of the following people:

  • Drs. E.H.T.M. Nijpels (Chairman)
  • Ir. L. Visser (Vice-chairman and Finance)
  • Prof. dr. J. van den Heuvel
  • Dr. Ir. I. Mastenbroek (Employees Council)
  • Ir. P.F. van Rhede van der Kloot

The Accreditation Committee consists of four members who are appointed by the Supervisory Board on the basis of their expertise in the field of accreditations, their integrity and their independence.

The Accreditation Committee meets once per month. Its task is to advise the Executive Board / Chief Executive about the award of accreditations. In addition, it is authorised to provide advice about suspensions or withdrawals of accreditations. The Committee is informed about the measures taken by the Executive Board and the Chief Executive and of the sanctions imposed on organisations.

The Executive Board has ultimate responsibility for decisions. If the Executive Board deviates from the advice of the Committee the Supervisory Board shall be heard. The Committee issues and annual report to the Supervisory Board about the Committee’s activities.

The Accreditation Committee consists of the following people:

  • Prof. dr. ir. O.A.M. Fisscher (Chairman)
  • Prof. dr. E. Bakker
  • Ir. C.K. Pasmooij
  • K.J. van Schalm

It is possible that there is an objection to a decision taken by the RvA. In that case the Objection Chairmen Committee will be engaged. This Committee consists of at least one and a maximum of five legally-educated members.

If an objection is submitted, the Executive Board shall appoint a member of the Committee to form an Advisory Committee to deal with that objection. The members of the Committee are strictly independent. The members shall never be part of the Executive Board of the RvA and shall not perform any activities under the responsibility of the Executive Board. The members shall be appointed by the Supervisory Board. This guarantees an impartial handling of objections.

The Objection Chairmen Committee consists of the following people:

  • Mr. L.A.F.M. Kerklaan
  • Mr. M.N. van Zijl
  • Mr. A. Pahladsingh

The User Council is an advisory panel established under the Articles of Association and consists of representatives of direct RvA clients. The User Council meets twice per year in order to advise the RvA about the budget and fees and about the level of service of the RvA. The Supervisory Board receives the minutes of these meetings so that it can take into account the opinions of users in its considerations.

The User Council consists of the following people:

  • Ir. J.C. van der Poel (RvA, Chairman)
  • Mr. J.A.W.M. de Haas (RvA)
  • S. ter Horst (NVCi)
  • Ir. O.T.H. Panhuys (NVCi)
  • R. Karel (Fenelab)
  • B. van Doorsselaere (VEROCOG)
  • Dr. B.M.A. Kroon (Fenelab)
  • Dr. S.M. Bruisten (medical labs)
  • Dr. B.G. Hepkema (medical labs)

The stakeholders of the RvA are represented in the Stakeholder Advisory Panel in the broadest sense: government departments, direct clients of the RvA and direct clients of the conformity-assessment bodies and scientific institutions.

The Advisory Panel operates at strategic and tactical level. The purpose of the panel is two-fold:

  • to provide the Executive Board and Chief Executive with requested and unsolicited advice about general policy matters;
  • to guarantee the impartiality of the RvA in policy matters.

The Advisory Panel meets twice per year to discuss (amongst other things) relevant developments, the added value of the RvA and the long-term vision. In addition, the Panel organises a conference once every two years during which the employees and members are consulted. The Supervisory Board receives the minutes of the meetings. Decisions made by the Panel are public.

The Stakeholder Advisory Panel consists of the following people:

  • Prof. dr. Ph. Eijlander (scientific institutions, Chairman)
  • Dr. P.H. Daverveldt (NEN)
  • Mr. A.P. de Groene (ministries)
  • Mr. J.A. van den Bos (inspections)
  • Ir. N.F.J. Hendriks (certification and inspection bodies)
  • R. Karel (laboratories)
  • Dr. R. Baumgarten (medical laboratories)
  • Ir. M.P. Cuijpers (primary sector)
  • Ir. F.W. Stuyt (framework managers)
  • Ir. J.J.N.M. Hogeling (industry)
  • Ing. G.J.W. Kerkman (insurance)
  • Dr. P. van der Knaap (government regulators)
  • Dr. H.C. Ossebaard (healthcare)
  • Ir. H.C.L. Vos (metrology)

The Ministry of Economic Affairs ensures that the RvA complies with the relevant provisions of the Non-Departmental Public Bodies Framework Act and with European Regulation (EC) No 765/2008.

The EA Multilateral Agreement Committee ensures that RvA satisfies the requirements of the European Regulation 765/2008 and the ISO 17011. Every four years the RvA is assessed by a team of about eight 'peers' in de form of a peer evaluation.

The Director / Chief Executive is responsible for achieving the objectives of the RvA, for the strategy and policy and for the developments arising from that. He reports to the Supervisory Board on these matters.

The Chief Executive of the RvA is ir. J.C. van der Poel.